muse moments

I’m starting a new habit this spring: walking to & from the library to get in some serious writing time each weekend. So here I sit, in the library with my laptop as my companion, feeling motivated & accomplished. Now that the weather is warmer, have you adapted any new routines? This week’s muse moments are inspired by the renewal that comes with this time of year. Hope it inspires you as it does me!

Soak up the atmosphere of a beautiful library, like the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Yale University. A library serves as a sanctuary for me–a place where I can collect my thoughts & immerse myself in a story, whether I’m writing it or simply reading it.

I came across this quote in The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America by Erik Larson. The nonfiction book about an architect & a serial killer takes place in Chicago during a time of tumultuous growth. (I pick up books on my to-read list just as I am about to travel to the places that serve as their settings.) The architect’s famous line serves well for any dream turned plan.

Feminism has been a hot topic in our house as of late. I’m a proud feminist who has spoken for women’s rights & launched campaigns with others to raise awareness for various issues of importance to me. Recent campaigns now focus on redefining (or shall we say “clarifying?”) the term “feminist.” That being said, what does feminism mean to you?

The gold bar jewelry is fast becoming a trend, but a simplistic necklace like this can also serve as a reminder with a mantra of your choosing. Whether it be “wanderlust” to remind you of your deep desire to travel, or “think green” to motivate an eco-conscious lifestyle, find the saying that encourages you to go after what you want from life.

& finally, a little piece of advice a la Holly Golightly, Audrey Hepburn’s mesmerizing character from Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

For whatever inspires you, set your mind to the task at hand until you’ve accomplished it.  Remember, the key is to do. Start at your own pace, but keep going. Soon, it will become a habit. Then, it will be easier to go faster & further. Once you accomplish your goals, you can set out to make new ones.

Till next time, ladies & gents…

Leave a Reply

